Contact Us   |    Join   |    Donate

DOLPHIN SCHOLARSHIP FOUNDATION Mrs. Randi Klein, Executive Director

The Dolphin Scholarship Foundation (DSF) is pleased to announce the selection of 44 outstanding high school and
college students as the 2008 Dolphin Scholars. Each Dolphin Scholar will receive an annual award of $3,400 per year for up to four years of undergraduate study. This fall DSF will fund a total of 137 scholarships, including 93 scholarships renewed for the 2008-2009 school year, for an annual total of $465,800 in Dolphin Scholarships. The Foundation also awards the independent Laura W. Bush Scholarship for children of crewmembers of USS TEXAS
(SSN 775).

Dolphin Scholarship Foundation was founded in 1960 and awarded the first Dolphin Scholarship of $350 in 196 1 to John L. Haines, Jr. The scholarship is available to children of members or former members of the U.S. Navy who served in, or in direct support of, the Submarine Force. The 2008 Dolphin Scholars were selected from 23 I applicants. Final selection was based on three criteria: academic proficiency, financial need , and commitment and excellence in school and community activities.

Members of the military and civilian community comprised the Scholarship Selection Board, including active duty, spouse and education representatives and the DSF President, Mrs. Mimi Donnelly. Of the 44 Dolphin Scholars selected, 33 were high school seniors and 11 were college students, 13 male and 3 I female . Twenty-two of the submarine sponsors were from the enlisted community and 22 were officers. Congratulations to the new 2008 Dolphin Scholars!


For many years, LCDR Robert “Ben” Benites, USN (Ret.) was the National Scholarship Liaison for U.S. Submarine Veterans of World War II, and was instrumental in bringing the SUBVETS scholarship program to DSF. A one year scholarship will be awarded in his memory for 2008-2009.
DSF will also award a one year memorial scholarship for Board Member Emeritus Vice Admiral C.E. “Ebbie” Bell, Jr., USN (Retired), who dedicated many years of service to our country, our Navy and our submarine families DONORS The Foundation greatly appreciates the support of our generous donors, yet we need to continue to increase our funding in order to grow our scholarship program. DSF has created The Parents’ Circle
as part of The Haines Society to recognize parents of Dolphin Scholars who give back to the Foundation.


The ongoing search for former Dolphin Scholars has located over 70 of our lost alumni to inform them of Foundation activities and to include them in our 501th Anniversary celebration.


At press time, the virtual submarine Race to the North Pole has 74 submarines entered, with donations totaling over $40,000. The race will end August 3, 2008, so it’s not too late to enter your favorite submarine! For more details and race progress, please visit the DSF website, www


The 2008 Annual DSF Golf Tournament will be Friday, October 3, 2008, at Heron Ridge Golf Club, Virginia Beach, Virginia. Corporate sponsors at press time include Lockheed Martin M S2, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Nuclear Fuel Services, GEICO, Dresser-Rand, L-3 Services Unidyne and Joe Buff, Inc. Sponsorships arc still available, and players may register online at


The Foundation sadly bid farewell to Mrs. Tomi Roeske, DSF Scholarship Administrator for 16 years. She is retiring to spend more time with her family. She has accepted the volunteer position of DSF “Ambassador-at-Large” and will remain involved in championing the cause of our scholarship program for children of submarine families. Mrs. Mary Bingham is the new Scholarship Administrator. Mrs. Alison Whittington, has been relieved by Mrs. Mary Starling as the new Administrative Assistant. Mrs. Barb Stahl, Financial Administrator, Mrs. Alison Whittington, Administrative Assistant, and Mrs. Randi Klein complete the Foundation’s part-time professional staff.


Members of the Foundation Board of Directors continue to serve and lead DSF forward into the 21″ Century: Maryellen Baldwin; Chairman RADM Charles J. Beers, Jr., USN (Rct.); Vice Chairman RADM Arlington Campbell, USN (Ret.); President Mimi Donnelly, wife of VADM J.J. Donnelly, USN, COMSUBFOR; SecretaryTreasurer CAPT Merrill Dorman, USN (Ret.); CAPT James Hay, USN (Rct.); CAPT Charles Spence, USNR (Ret.); ETCM(SS) John Pierson, USN (Ret.); and Mr. Vincent Thomas. Dr. Roseann Runte, President of Old Dominion University has resigned to accept
another position at Carlton University, Ottawa, Canada. RADM Robert H. Blount, USN (Rct.) remains Member Emeritus.
Prominent American citizens and retired submarine leaders serve on the Distinguished Advisory Board for the Foundation: Robert Ballard, Ph.D.; Rebecca Burkalter; John P. Casey; ADM Henry G. Chiles, Jr., USN (Ret.), Jr.; ADM Bruce DcMars, USN (Ret.); Martha Grenfell, DSF Founder; ADM Frank B. Kelso II,
USN (Ret.); John W. O’Neill; Michael Petters; VADM J. Guy Reynolds, USN (Ret.); Eleonore Rickover; Thomas C. Schievclbcin; Michael W. Toner; ADM Carl Trost, USN (Ret.); ADM James
D. Watkins, USN (Ret.); and John K. Welch.

In moving closer to its goal of 140 annual scholarships of $4,000 each, the DSF Board of Directors recently approved an increase in the annual scholarship to $3,400 each, beginning with the academic year 2008-2009.
One of the means by which the Foundation hopes to achieve this goal is to increase the awareness of planned giving and encourage submariners to consider Dolphin Scholarship Foundation in their wills. The newest Friends of the Foundation to make a bequest to Dolphin Scholarship Foundation arc Captain and Mrs. William Bower, USN (Ret.). We thank them for their foresight and generosity. For more information about Dolphin Scholarship Foundation, please visit our website,

Naval Submarine League

© 2022 Naval Submarine League